Wednesday, 3 May 2017

Param Veer Chakra

The Param Veer Chakra (PVC) is India’s highest military decoration awarded to officers or enlisted personnel from all branches of the Indian military for displaying distinguished acts of valour during wartime.

First Param Veer Chakra Winner: Major Som Nath Sharma,3rd November 1947.

And latest Winner of Param Veer Chakra : Vikram Batra, 5th July,1999

It is given for the “most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice, in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea, or in the air.

The Param Veer Chakra (PVC) is equivalent to the Medal of Honor in the United States and the Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom.

The award was established on 26 January 1950 and since then has been awarded 21 times, of which 14 were posthumous awards and 16 has been awarded for acts of bravery committed during the Indo-Pakistani conflicts.

From 21 awardees, 20 - Indian Army, and 1- Indian Air Force.

The design of the medal was designed by Savitri Khanolkar- the wife of an Indian Army officer, Vikram Khanolkar of the Sikh Regiment.

Vidya-Veerta Abhiyan

The Minister for Human Resource and Development, Prakash Javadekar has launched on 2nd may, a nationwide Vidya – Veerta Abhiyan.

The aim of this Abhiyan is to instill a sense of patriotism and nationalism among students.
The portraits of Param Veer Chakra decorated soldiers were handed over to the Vice Chancellors of Jawaharlal Nehru University(JNU), Delhi University (DU), Jamia Milia Islamia, Jammu and IIT Delhi, among others, to put it in their educational institutions. 

The “wall of heroes” depicting portraits of brave soldiers who showed exemplary bravery in defending the nation is expected to instil a sense of patriotism and nationalism among students.

A year after the HRD Ministry released – Veergatha books on the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees for school children, Mr Javadekar has launched it on 2nd may.

The Vidya Veerta Abhiyan to create walls of heroes – displaying the portraits of the heroes in institutions of higher learning.

To know more about :Maha VirChakra (MVC), Vir Chakra ,Param Vir Chakra , Dronacharya Award

Tarang Sanchar

The Minister of Communications Shri Manoj Sinha today launched here Tarang Sanchar, a web portal for Information sharing on Mobile Towers and EMF Emission Compliances and said that it will go a long way in clearing the myths and misconceptions of public on mobile towers and emissions from them.

This portal will allow users to get a tower or base station checked for radiation emission, with a charge of Rs 4,000.

He said that mobile phone today has become an essential requirement for all including the poor in the remotest corner of the country and no one will be allowed to spread isconception about the harmful radiation from the towers to impede the growth of the country.

Shri Sinha reiterated that there are over 25,000 studies by WHO in the last 30 years on the subject and there is no proof that EMF radiation has any harmful effect on human health.

Shri Sinha said that to realize the Prime Minister’s vision of Digital India, it is necessary to have more and more mobile towers in every nook and corner of the country and the Ministry has already approved installation of towers over government buildings.

As historic step, the Minister said that in future it will help in identifying the blind spots and also environment friendly as no paper work is required for this.
મધ્ય પ્રદેશનું નાણાકીય વર્ષ હવે ૧ જાન્યુઆરીથી ૩૧ ડિસેમ્બરનું રહેશે
મધ્ય પ્રદેશના મુખ્યમંત્રી શિવરાજસિંહ ચૌહાણ દ્વારા મંગળવારે બોલાવાયેલી કેબિનેટની બેઠક બાદ મહત્ત્વનો નિર્ણય લેવાયો હતો. બેઠક બાદ શિવરાસ સિંહે જાહેરાત કરી હતી કે મધ્ય પ્રદેશનું આગામી વિધાનસભાનું સત્ર અને બજેટ સત્ર ડિસેમ્બર-જાન્યુઆરીમાં થશે.

નવું નાણાકીય વર્ષ શરૂ કરનાર અને અપનાવનાર મધ્ય પ્રદેશ દેશનું પહેલું રાજ્ય બનશે. કેન્દ્ર સરકાર દ્વારા પણ નાણાકીય વર્ષને બદલવા માટે વિચારણા કરવામાં આવી રહી છે.

દર ત્રણ મહિને રિવ્યૂ કરાશે
Dronacharya Award

Dronacharya Award - to recognize the efforts of such coaches and trainers who dedicate their lives to enhancing the performance of athletes and raising the standard of games. 

These highly trained sportspersons bring glory and honor to the country in the international sports events.

The Dronacharya Award was first given in 1985 and since then every year it is provided to expert coaches for their consistent outstanding performance. It is also required that the awardee has exhibited excellent performance for consistent three years preceding the Award. It is also provided to honor the distinguished individuals, who have dedicated their lives to the promotion of sports. The cash prize associated with Dronacharya Award is Rs. 5 lakhs.

It is of a bronze statue of Guru Dronacharya (the ancient Indian archery trainer in the mythological era of Mahabharata), a tie, a blazer, a scroll and a suit. 

First awardees in 1985:

  •          Bhalachandra Bhaskar Bhagwat (Wrestling), 
  •          Om Prakash Bhardwaj (Boxing), and 
  •          O. M. Nambiar (Athletics)

Recent (2016) awardees:

  •         Sagar Mal Dhayal
  •          S. Pradeep Kumar
  •          Bishweshwar Nandi
  •          Mahavir Singh Phogat
  •          Nagapuri Ramesh
  •     Rajkumar Sharma 
To know more about :Maha VirChakra (MVC), Vir Chakra ,Param Vir Chakra 
Maha Vir Chakra (MVC)

The Maha Vir Chakra (MVC) (literally great warrior medal) established on 26th january 1950, is the second highest military decoration in India, after the Param Vir Chakra, and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air. It replaced the British Distinguished Service Order (DSO). The medal may be awarded posthumously. 

Apperance :

The medal is made of standard silver and is circular in shape.

Embossed on the obverse is a five pointed heraldic star with circular center-piece bearing the gilded state emblem of India in the center. 

The words "Mahavira Chakra" are embossed in Devanagari and English on the reverse with two lotus flowers in the middle. 

The decoration is worn on the left chest with a half-white and half-orange riband about 3.2 cm in width, the orange being near the left shoulder.

The First winner of MVC was Dewan Ranjit Rai (Lt Col), on 27th Oct 1947, for Indo - Pak Kashmir War.

And Latest Awardee is Gurjinder Singh Suri (Capt), on 1st Jan 2001, for 1999 Operation Vijay, kargil

Vir Chakra

Vir Chakra is third in precedence in the war time gallantry awards and comes after the Param Vir Chakra and Maha Vir Chakra .Established by the President of India on 26 January 1950 (with effect from 15 August 1947)

Vir Chakra is an Indian gallantry award presented for acts of bravery in the battlefield.

It replaced the British Distinguished Service Cross (DSC), Military Cross (MC) and Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC). Award of the decoration carries with it the right to use Vr.C. as a postnominal abbreviation (note the care to distinguish this abbreviation from that for the Victoria Cross (V.C.) .

First Vir Chakra awardee were Nadikerianda Bheemaiah (Indian Army) in 1947,R Kanikasamy (Indian Army) in 1947 

Apperance :

The medal is 1-3/8 inch circular silver medal. 

A five pointed star, with the chakra in the center, and, on this, the domed gilded state emblem. 

The decoration is named on the rim and suspended from a swiveling straight-bar suspender. 

The decoration is almost always named and dated on the edge. Around a plain center, two legends separated by lotus flowers; above Vir Chakra in Hindi and in English

The ribbon is 32 mm, half dark blue and half orange-saffron. Dark blue 16 mm, saffron 16 mm.

To know more about : Param Vir Chakra , Dronacharya Award